Home National news Belmont University hosts the Minority Caucus of the Metro Council

Belmont University hosts the Minority Caucus of the Metro Council

by PRIDE Newsdesk

[portfolio_slideshow id=1431]

For the second consecutive year, Belmont hosted Metro government officials, local business owners and community leaders as part of the Metropolitan Minority Caucus anniversary celebration. This year’s program honored the 50th anniversary of Nashville-Davidson’s County’s consolidated government.

More than 100 people attended the reception in the Frist Lecture Hall on Feb. 28, 2013. “It is great to have on our campus people who have been a part of making Nashville such a great city,” said Belmont President Bob Fisher, welcoming the guest.  The caucus presented special awards to current and former minority council members.

Belmont Junior, Chelsea Stratton, accepted an award on behalf of her late grandfather, James Hawkins; Druscilla Martin, represented her father, the late George H. Darden; and Joy Sims represented her father, Harvey Sims.

The officers of the Minority Caucus are: Caucus President Erica Gilmore (Dist. 19), Jerry Maynard (Council At-Large), Lonnell Matthews, Jr. (Dist. 1), Frank Harrison (Dist. 2), Walter Hunt (Dist. 3), Scott Davis (Dist. 5), Sandra Moore Dist. 17), Edith Langster (Dist.21), Karen Y. Johnson (Dist. 29), Fabian Bedne (Dist. 31), and Jacobia Dowell (Dist. 32).

Photos by Ludye N.Wallace and Belmont University

Related Posts