Home Leisure & Sports Buddy Guy, Clarence Clemons headed to Halls of Fame

Buddy Guy, Clarence Clemons headed to Halls of Fame

by PRIDE Newsdesk

Clarence Clemons

Clarence Clemons

Buddy Guy

Buddy Guy

The Musicians Hall of Fame and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will each have one famous African American inducted in 2014. Buddy Guy will be inducted here in Nashville, and Clemons will be added to the roster in Cleveland along with his band mates in the legendary E Street Band.

Billy Cox, Steve Cropper, and Duane Eddy announced the 2014 Inductees to the Musicians Hall of Fame on November 4. The 2014 Induction Ceremony will take place at 7 pm, Tuesday, January 28, 2014 at the 10,000-seat arena of Nashville’s Historic Municipal Auditorium. Performers include Grammy winner Peter Frampton, Will Lee, Randy Bachman, ZZ Top’s Billy Gibbons, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, and more performers to be announced. The 2014 Iconic Riff Award goes to Roy Orbison (posthumously) for one of the most covered and iconic guitar riffs of all time, ‘Pretty Woman.’ Roy is the first recipient of this award. The Non-Performing Award goes to Mike Curb. The Inductees are Barbara Mandrell, Peter Frampton, Ben Keith (posthumously), Velma Smith, Randy Bachman, Corki Casey O’Dell, Jimmy Capps, Will Lee, Stevie Ray Vaughan (posthumously) & Double Trouble, and Buddy Guy.

Buddy Guy is a pioneer of the Chicago blues sound and has served as an influence to some of the most notable musicians of his generation, including Eric Clapton, Jimmy Page, Jimi Hendrix and Stevie Ray Vaughan. Rolling Stone magazine ranked Guy 30th on their list of 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time. Known for his showmanship on stage, he would play his guitar with drumsticks or stroll into the audience while playing solos. His song ‘Stone Crazy’ was ranked 78th in Rolling Stone’s list of the 100 Greatest Guitar Songs of All Time.

The Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum (MHOF) honors all musicians regardless of genre or instrument. The Musicians Hall of Fame and Museum, open Monday-Saturday 10 am-5 pm, debuted its new 68,000 sq. ft. location on the first floor of Nashville’s Historic Municipal Auditorium on August 29. Visit www.musicianshalloffame.com

The nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame included The Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Chic, Deep Purple, Peter Gabriel, Hall and Oates, KISS, LL Cool J, The Meters, Nirvana, N.W.A., The Replacements, Linda Ronstadt, Cat Stevens, Link Wray, Yes, and The Zombies. The Inductees are Peter Gabriel, Hall and Oates, KISS, Nirvana, Linda Ronstadt, and Cat Stevens. Ahmet Ertegun Awards go to Brian Epstein and Andrew Loog Oldham, longtime managers of The Beatles and The (Rolling) Stones, respectively; and The Award for Musical Excellence to The E Street Band.

Bruce Springsteen formed the E Street Band in 1973, after he landed a recording contract with Columbia Records. Springsteen played with the musicians who became the E Street Band in various Asbury Park–based groups in the late 1960s and early ‘70s with Garry Tallent on bass, Danny Federici on organ, David Sancious on piano, Vini Lopez on drums and Clarence ‘Big Man’ Clemons on saxophone helping to establish Springsteen’s legendary reputation as one of the greatest performers in the history of rock and roll.

The 29th annual Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be Thursday, April 10, 2014 at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. Buddy Guy with Robert Randolph & The Family Band will be live in concert at War Memorial Auditorium in Nashville, February 20, 2014 at 7 pm.

Related Posts