Home Local News 40th Annual GMA Dove Awards sells out for Nashville Allen Arena

40th Annual GMA Dove Awards sells out for Nashville Allen Arena

by PRIDE Newsdesk

40th Annual GMA Dove Awards sells out for Nashville Allen Arena

Girls Night Out at the Dove Awards, Sadie Robinson and Erica Campbell (photo courtesy GMA DOVE Awards).

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The 46th Annual GMA Dove Awards were handed out in 41 categories, as well as 4 special awards. Co-hosted by Erica Campbell and Sadie Robertson, the night drew a record attendance at the Allen Arena on the campus of Lipscomb University. The entire show was broadcast exclusively on Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) on Sunday, October 18th.

List of televised Dove Award winners
Song of the Year: ‘How Can It Be’ — Lauren Daigle; (writers) Jason Ingram, Jeff Johnson, Paul Mabury
Artist of the Year: Lecrae
New Artist of the Year: Lauren Daigle
Southern Gospel Album of Year: Pray Now — Karen Peck & New River; (producer) Wayne Haun
Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year: ‘I Luh God (ft. Big Shizz)’ — Erica Campbell; (writers) Warren Campbell, Erica Campbell, Lashawn Daniels
Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year: Anomaly – Lecrae; (producers) Dirty Rice, Joseph Prielozny, Street Symphony, S1, J. Rhodes, 808XEIite, GAWVI, Nate Robinson, Mashell, Derke Minor, Vohnbeatz, Lasanna, ‘Ace’ Harris, Alex Medina, Jaquebeatz
Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year: Run Wild, Live Free, Love Strong — For King & Country; (producers) Seth Mosley, Tedd T. Matte Hales, Ben Glover
Gospel Artist of the Year: Tasha Cobbs
Praise and Worship Song of the Year: ‘Because He Lives (Amen)’ — Matt Maher; (writers) Chris Tomlin, Daniel Carson, Ed Cash, Gloria Gaither, Jason Ingram, Matt Maher, Bill Gaither
Inspirational Film: Mom’s Night Out; (directors) The Erwin Brothers;(producers) Affirm Films, FourBoys Ent. Provident Films, Pure Flix Ent. And TriStar Pictures
Special recognition honors also presented this evening include:
Lifetime Achievement Award — Bobby Jones Gospel and John Rivers 20 The Countdown magazine
GMA Impact Award — YouTube
The Outstanding Mainstream Contribution to Gospel Music Award — Mark Burnett and Roma Downey
Radio Impact Award — CCM — The Joy FM, Southern Gospel – enlighten, Gospel — WPRS — FM 104.1
Joseph Habedank and Kirk Whalum were the co-hosts of the preshow ceremony where over 30 of the awards were received and outstanding performances were made by many of today’s top artists. Both the preshow and the Dove Cares Red Carpet were streamed on www.hearitfirst.com/live.

The 41 award presentations represented a wide-array of musical styles ranging from Gospel, Contemporary Christian, Rap/Hip-Hop, Urban, Country, Worship, Contem-porary and Traditional Gospel, Rock, Pop, Bluegrass, Spanish Lang-uage and Inspirational categories.

Special thanks were given to this year’s partners: TBN, Lipscomb University, Salem Broadcasting, CCM Magazine, Country Outfitters, Billboard Magazine, LifeWay, CCLI, Sound Exchange, Compassion International, Birdsong Creative, De Lux Productions, The OverFlow, Mad Marketplace, National Museum of African American Music, YesLord Radio!, 760AM, Simple Grace and BMI.

The memberships of the GMA (Gospel Music Association) determine the winners in each category. Kraft CPA is the official accounting firm for the GMA.

Related Posts