Home Leisure & Sports The 30th Annual Trumpet Awards rescheduled

The 30th Annual Trumpet Awards rescheduled

by PRIDE Newsdesk

J.B. Smoove attends the 30th Annual Bounce Trumpet Awards at The Dolby Theater on Saturday, April 23, 2022 in Los Angeles, CA.

Zaila Avant-garde, Rising Star Award Honoree, attends the 30th Annual Bounce Trumpet Awards at The Dolby Theater on Saturday, April 23, 2022 in Los Angeles, CA.

This Juneteenth, the Bounce Trumpet Awards return for its 30th anniversary, celebrating the best in African American excellence and achievement. A beacon to inspire, enlighten and raise the human spirit to its highest potential, the Bounce Trumpet Awards recognizes Black humanitarians who have succeeded against immense odds and augment the richness of our society by striving for justice and equality for all.

The 30th Anniversary Bounce Trumpet Awards were rescheduled for and held on April 23, 2022, at the Dolby Theater in Hollywood. They will air on Juneteenth, Sunday, June 19, at 6 p.m. CDT. Produced by Magic Lemonade Production Company, the gala event will be televised on Bounce, the nation’s popular entertainment television network serving African Americans. The event, which was previewed in the PRIDE on January 7, was rescheduled from January because of COVID-19 concerns.

“It’s fitting that we will honor Black excellence and achievement on a day that is a commemoration of such a significant moment in our history as African Americans,” said Cheryle Harrison, head of Bounce. “We appreciate everyone’s patience in our having to adjust this year’s schedule.”

The 2022 Bounce Trumpet Awards honor:

Courtney B. Vance (Excellence in Entertainment Award): Vance’s debut in “Hamburger Hill” launched a prolific cinematic career that includes “The Hunt for Red October,” “The Preacher’s Wife” and “The Adventures of Huck Finn.” His work in television includes “The People vs. OJ Simpson: American Crime Story” for which he won an Emmy, Critics Choice, and NAACP Image award.

Stan Lathan (Living Legend Award): Lathan launched HBO’s groundbreaking “Def Comedy Jam,” produced and directed comedy specials featuring Dave Chapelle, Cedric The Entertainer, and more.

Zaila Avant-garde (Rising Star Award): The Louisiana native was the 2021 Scripps National Spelling Bee winner and the first Black American to win the academic competition. She also holds three basketball-related Guinness World Records.

Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff (Xernona Clayton Award of Distinction): The senators from Georgia will be honored with this award, named after the founder of the Trumpet Awards, for succeeding against immense odds, fighting for change, and working to improve the lives of all. Warnock has served as senior pastor at Ebenezer Baptist Church in Atlanta for over 15 years. Ossoff was mentored by civil rights legend and former Trumpet Award honoree Congressman John Lewis.

Princess Sarah Culberson (Impact Award): This award is given for demonstrating tremendous vision, leadership, and innovation that has led to a positive impact on the community. Culberson and her brother founded the non-profit Sierra Leone Rising, which distributed aid during the 2014 Ebola outbreak and the 2020’s COVID-19 crisis and continues to raise funds for community growth.

Among the special guests paying tribute to this year’s honorees are Wendell Pierce, Sanaa Lathan, JB Smoove, and Tamron Hall. Musical performers include Tank, PJ Morton, Dru Hill, Mary Mary, and more.

The Trumpets air Sunday, June 19 at 6:00 PM CDT on Bounce. In Nashville, watch BOUNCE TV on Channel 5.3; or Channel 359 on DISH Network.

Related Posts