Home Local News Lynda Jones wins by a landslide, Charlane Oliver wins District 19

Lynda Jones wins by a landslide, Charlane Oliver wins District 19

by PRIDE Newsdesk
Judge Lynda F. Jones and Charlane Oliver

Judge Lynda F. Jones has won re-election to General Sessions Judge Div IX, by beating her Republican opponent, Brian Horowitz.   Jones’s victory was a landslide, with over 71% of the vote.

 “I’m humbled and honored to serve another 8 years,” said Jones.  “Thank you, Nashville!”

In other general election races, Rachael Anne Elrod (D) won School Board District 2, Berthena Nabaa-Mckinney (D) won School Board District 4, And Cheryl D. Mayes (D) won School Board District 6.

In the highly contested TN Senate District 19 Democratic Primary, Activist, Charlane Oliver defeated her opponents Jerry Maynard and Ludye Wallace.  Oliver received over 43% of the vote with Maynard and Wallace receiving 39% and 11% respectively.

Oliver is running to replace retiring Senator Brenda Gilmore and will face off against her Republican opponent Pime Hernandez in the Nov. 8 General Election.  

Additionally, Dr. Jason Martin won the Democratic Primary for Governor and will face off against Governor Bill Lee.

Community activist Justin Jones defeated Councilwoman Delishia Porterfield in the TN House District 52 race. 

For full election results, go to https://www.nashville.gov/departments/elections.

Related Posts