Home Health & Education André L. Churchwell, MD, named to Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame 2023 inductee class

André L. Churchwell, MD, named to Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame 2023 inductee class

by PRIDE Newsdesk
André L. Churchwell, MD

André L. Churchwell, MD, has been named to the 2023 inductee class of the Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame.

Churchwell graduated from the Vanderbilt School of Engineering magna cum laude in 1975. He attended Harvard Medical School and earned his medical degree in 1979. He completed his internship, residency, and cardiology fellowship at Emory University School of Medicine in Atlanta, Georgia.

Dr. Churchwell is a professor of medicine (cardiology), professor of radiology and radiological sciences, professor of biomedical engineering, and senior associate dean for Diversity Affairs at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine.

Churchwell will be recognized at a celebration and reception at the Fisher Center for the Performing Arts on Tuesday, October 17, along with four other inductees, including Wilsie S. Bishop, MSN, MSED, DPA – professor and vice president for Health Affairs emerita at East Tennessee State University; Vicky Gregg – founding partner, Guidon Partners, and former CEO BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee; Stephen Reynolds – president emeritus and senior consultant at Baptist Memorial Health Care; and Philip A. Wenk, DDS – CEO of Delta Dental of Tennessee.

With a mission to honor those who have made significant and lasting contributions to the health and healthcare industries, the Hall of Fame was created by Belmont University, the McWhorter Society, and the Nashville Health Care Council, a founding partner. Since its inception in 2015, the Hall of Fame has inducted nearly 50 healthcare leaders.

The nomination process began last October and was open to practitioners, executives, entrepreneurs, mentors, teachers, scientists, researchers, innovators, or any person with a connection to the health or healthcare field who –

 •   was born, lived, or worked in Tennessee

 •   made a significant impact and lasting contribution to health care at the local, state, national, or international level

 •   exhibits the highest ethical and professional character

 •   serves as an outstanding role model in their community

Among the accomplished nominees, inductees were chosen by a selection committee made up of healthcare leaders in various sectors from across the state. Selected inductees represent some of Tennessee’s greatest health and healthcare pioneers, leaders, and innovators.

“It is a tremendous honor to acknowledge the remarkable achievements of this year’s Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame inductee class,” said Belmont University President Dr. Greg Jones. “As we move closer to opening our Frist College of Medicine and continue training providers in our esteemed Colleges of Nursing and Pharmacy & Health Sciences, we draw great inspiration from the profound impact these five individuals have had on health care. Each inductee has championed health and well-being for Tennesseans and beyond, and I look forward to formally celebrating their contributions in October.”

In addition to recognizing Tennessee’s most influential health and healthcare leaders, the Hall of Fame serves as an ongoing educational resource to document the rich history that has contributed to Tennessee’s position as the nation’s healthcare capital. Beginning in 2024, the Hall of Fame will have a permanent location, open to the public, within Belmont’s Thomas F. Frist, Jr. College of Medicine. The building is slated to open in the spring of 2024.

Sponsors of this year’s induction ceremony contribute to the long-term viability of the Hall of Fame and the McWhorter Society Scholarship Program, which benefits students pursuing careers in the health sciences. Since the inception of the McWhorter Society and the Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame, more than $3.7 million has been raised to support McWhorter Society Endowed Scholarships, with more than 200 students receiving 428 annual scholarships since 2014.

A comprehensive list of Hall of Fame inductees since 2015 (along with information on sponsorship opportunities for the October 17 induction event) can be found on the Tennessee Health Care Hall of Fame website.

Related Posts