Home Local News Vote Now / Election Preview for Nashville’s August 3 Election

Vote Now / Election Preview for Nashville’s August 3 Election

by Cass Teague
(top row l-r) Matt Wiltshire, Bernie Cox, Fran Bush, Arnold Hays, (bottom row l-r) Jeff Syracuse, Joy Kimbrough, and RJ Manula.

Voting is underway now for Nashville’s next Mayor, Vice-Mayor, Metro Council members and District 52 in the Tennessee House of Representatives. Early voting for the August 3 Election continues daily, Monday through Saturday until July 29. But, will there be a runoff election on September 14?

According to the Davidson County Election Commission:

To be elected, a candidate for Mayor, Vice Mayor, or District Council Member must receive at least 50% of the total votes cast for their respective office plus one vote (majority of the vote). Council Members at Large must also receive a majority of the vote to be elected, however the “total votes cast for the office” equals one-fifth of the total votes received by all candidates running for Council Member at Large. If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, a runoff election will be held for that position on September 14.

Because there are five at-large seats, the top five candidates win. So, to win a seat outright, at-large candidates must win 10 percent of the total vote. A runoff would then be held among double the number of available seats. So, if three at-large candidates each get more than 10 percent in the general election, they are elected, and thus there would be a runoff for the remaining two seats by the top four remaining candidates.

In Tennessee House of Representatives District 52, Justin Jones is seeking to return to his seat. It was taken by the Republican supermajority in the Spring in an act of national disgrace. Republican Party nominee Laura Nelson is also on the ballot.

In the race for Mayor, the following candidates are on ballot: Natisha Brooks, Fran Bush, Heidi Campbell, Bernie Cox, Jim Gingrich*, Sharon Hurt, Stephanie Johnson, Freddie O’Connell, Alice Rolli, Michael Rowan, Vivian Wilhoite, Matt Wiltshire and Jeff Yarbro. Vice-Mayor Jim Shulman (Incumbent) is vying for re-election against challenger Angie Henderson. (* at press time it had been widely reported that Gingrich has suspended his campaign and the website has been shuttered; calls to his campaign were unanswered)

Council At-Large. In the at-large race for council, incumbents Burkley Allen and Zulfat Suara are running for re-election, along with current district council members Delishia Porterfield, Russ Pulley, and Jeff Syracuse among 20 total candidates. The other candidates are Chris Crofton, Chris Cheng, Stephen Downs, Quin Evans-Segall, Ronnie Greer, Arnold Hayes, Brian Hellwig, Olivia Hill, Yolanda Hockett, Tim Horne, Howard Jones, Marcia Masulla, Gilbert Ramirez, Deloris Vandivort, and Jonathan Williamson.

Contested Council District candidates are District 1: Ruby Baker, Sean Dailey, Rob Harris, Joy Kimbrough and Timothy Thompson; District 4: Davette Blalock, Mike Cortese and Brian Sullivan; District 5: Terri Klingner and Sean Parker (I); District 6: Clay Capp, Brandes Holcomb and Daniel McDonell; District 7: Emily Benedict (I) and Danny Williams; District 8: Martez Coleman, Deonte Harrell and Jullian Leggs; District 9: Tonya Hancock (I) and Stephanie Montenegro; District 10: Jennifer Webb and Zach Young (I); District 11: Joe Delucas, Sherard Edington, Jeff Eslick and Eric Patton; District 14: Jordan Huffman and R.J. Mamula; District 15: Jeff Gregg and Dan Jones; District 16: Alexa Little and Ginny Welsch (I); District 17: Tonya Esquibel, Teaka Jackson and Terry Vo; District 18: Karen Bannister, Tom Cash (I) and Angus Purdy; District 19: Jasper Hendricks III, Jacob Kupin, Derek Lisle and Jonathan Turner; District 20: Scott Gillihan and Rollin Horton; District 21: Jamel Campbell-Gooch and Brandon Taylor (I); District 22: Jessica Dauphin and Sheri Weiner; District 23: Thom Druffel (I) and

Lisa Williams; District 24: Brenda Gadd and Carlos Rousselin; District 25: David Ackerman, Jeff Preptit and Rolando Toyos; District 28: David Benton and Travis London; District 29: Tasha Ellis, Jama Mohamed, John Reed and Michele Vetter; District 31: Dia Hart and John Rutherford (I); District 34: Luke Elliott and Sandy Ewing; and District 35: Carson Smart and Jason Spain.

Early Voting for the August 3 Election continues Friday, July 21 8:00 am – 5:30 pm; Saturday, July 22 8:00 am – 4:30 pm; Monday, July 24 8:00 am – 5:30 pm; Tuesday, July 25 8:00 am – 7:00 pm; Wednesday, July 26 8:00 am – 4:30 pm; Thursday, July 27 8:00 am – 7:00 pm; Friday, July 28 8:00 am – 5:30 pm; and Saturday, July 29 8:00 am – 4:30 pm at Belle Meade City Hall; Bellevue Library; Bordeaux Library; Casa Azafrán Community Center; Edmondson Pike Library; Goodlettsville Delmas Long Community Center, Green Hills Library, Hermitage Library, Howard Office Building, Madison Library, Margaret Maddox East YMCA and Southeast Library.

Early Voting Schedule for the Thursday, September 14, 2023 Elections, including Runoffs will be at the same locations, Friday, August 25, 2023 through Saturday, September 9, 2023.

Related Posts